Dear Agony Aunt: Two Years On

Two years ago today, I released my first video game: it is Dear Agony Aunt’s two year anniversary! So, it seems like a good opportunity to look back on what I’ve learned from this project.

The overwhelming feeling I have is that I’m so proud of creating this game. I love it so much. I loved making it and I love continuing to support it and I’m excited about every opportunity I get to add an update or interact with players or write an announcement. It’s all such a joy!

I think I accomplished what I was aiming to with the writing. Each of the characters’ stories is intended to communicate something that I believe is important. For example, Ur_Only_Hope92’s story is about being there for your friends when they need you, enjoying your experiences together even when things don’t go according to plan, and knowing that rules often have a purpose but they should not be blindly followed. At the same time, I absolutely did not want to create a preachy game and I sincerely hope that Dear Agony Aunt offers players a light and fun experience.

All of the characters are so special to me, and I wondered whether I could reveal my favourite as part of the two year anniversary celebrations but I genuinely cannot choose. I asked my mum too, because who wouldn’t want to know my mum’s favourite? But she couldn’t choose either! Dear Agony Aunt’s co-creator was able to make a decision though. His favourite is… Kulwinder and the tale of the ugly lamp!

From my experiences with Dear Agony Aunt over the past two years, I’ve realised the biggest thing that needs work is marketing. My marketing knowledge and skills are desperately lacking. (Maybe part of the problem is that this blog and Steam are the closest things I have to social media accounts.) I contacted various outlets about my game with sincere, personalised messages but the vast majority of my messages were met with silence. This is something I’ll need to work on for my next project.

As a consequence, I’ve also learned that genuinely caring for and believing in your project matters A LOT. The games market is crowded, to say the least, so it is tough to get noticed. I could have easily become disheartened and told myself that my game must be rubbish and given up altogether, but because I believed in my creation, I was able to hold on to the perspective that the game is good and I just really bloody need to learn about promotion.

While I would be thrilled for Dear Agony Aunt to gain more attention and have greater financial success, I am still over the moon with the response it has received from the small audience it has reached. And, another thing I’ve learned is that listening to that audience is invaluable. They can help you to improve your game. Sometimes it is worthwhile to make the exact changes they suggest. At other times, you may disagree with their suggestions but it would still be unwise to disregard their views. It may be that you need to make your intended message clearer to them instead. Whatever the case, you made your game to be played so don’t ignore those who are doing just that!

It has been a wonderful two years with Dear Agony Aunt. Games development really does feel like the right career for me. I adore everything about it – even the bad bits! Thank you to anyone who has read my blog or played Dear Agony Aunt. It means the world to me.

Leave a comment